District Court

District Courts are created by the Constitution. They are the trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including:

  • Care of the Mentally Ill
  • Conservatorships
  • Damage Suits
  • Divorce and Domestic Relations
  • Guardianships
  • Juvenile Matters
  • Probate and Administration of Estates
  • Small Claims
Clay County Courthouse

It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Kansas is divided into 31 judicial districts, with a varying number of counties and judges in each district.

21st Judicial District

Clay and Riley counties make up the 21st Judicial District. We have three district court judges and two district magistrate judges. The chief judge, in addition to his judicial responsibilities, has general control over the assignment of cases within the district and general supervisory authority over the administrative functions of the court.

Clerk of the District Court Location

The Clerk of the District Court is located on the second floor of the courthouse in Room 204.

Electronic Filing Order

Administrative Order Regarding Electronic Filing


We accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover.